Rehabilitation of the Coney Island Parachute Jump

Location
Coney Island, Brooklyn, New York

Client
New York City Department of Desigh and Construction

Reference
Dan Eschenasy, P.E.
(718) 391-1251

Completion Date
1999

Parachute Jump

Project Description

The Parachute Jump, originally constructed for the 1939 New York World’s Fair in Flushing Meadows, Queens, was relocated to Coney Island, Brooklyn, in 1941. The ride functioned as part of Steeplechase Park until 1968, after which it was purchased by the City of New York. The Parachute Jump was designated a New York City Landmark and listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.

The goal of the historic architectural scope was to determine the appearance of the Parachute Jump while it was an operating amusement park ride at Coney Island.  A paint and lead analysis was conducted of both the base and the steel superstructure to determine the original colors of the Parachute Jump and the need for lead paint abatement.

Research efforts focused on the appearance of the ride including the base,, the rigging, shock absorbers, and the colors and configurations of the parachutes.  Research efforts also focused on the experience of the ride, including the route visitors took in arriving, purchasing tickets and boarding and debarking the ride.  A search was also undertaken to determine the original illumination and mechanical and electrical systems. 

The Parachute Jump is now the hallmark of the Keyspan Stadium, the home of the Triple A Brooklyn Cyclones, a minor league baseball team.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parachute_jump

 

Lynn Drobbin & Associates
629 Fifth Avenue, Pelham NY 10803
914-738-8070
Email us at lynn@lynndrobbin.com